## UNITED FACULTY

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Christopher Martin, Ph.D., President, United Faculty, chris.martin@cfu.net, (319) 883-5088

## United Faculty Announces "Above and Beyond" Faculty Award Winners

UF Also Recognizes 6 Assistant Professors with Special "Exceptional and Rare" Award



**Elena Dobrila** 



Penny Wang

**Cedar Falls, Iowa – April 28, 2024** United Faculty, the faculty labor union at the University of Northern Iowa, awarded two Above and Beyond Awards, worth \$1000 each, in honor of exemplary non-tenure track faculty members. The 2024 winners:

• Elena Dobrila, from the Department of Languages and Literatures, specializes in Spanish language acquisition courses, coordinates Elementary Spanish courses and serves as the advisor for the Spanish and Spanish-Teaching majors. She first began teaching at UNI in 2009.

• **Penny Wang,** from the Department of Languages and Literatures, has served as a term faculty member (now Assistant Professor of Instruction) since 2014, with a program assignment in

TESOL. Her primary teaching responsibility is the Chinese language classes that are part of the Chinese Studies Certificate.

United Faculty also recognized six assistant professors with the special "Exceptional and Rare" award because they have consistently exceeded the expectations of their department's standards and criteria, and have the full support of their department heads and deans. Each received \$500 with the award.

- Gabriel Dickey (Department of Accounting)
- **Rebecca Dickinson** (Department of Social Work)
- **Ryan Flugum** (Department of Finance)
- Michael Graziano (Department of Philosophy and World Religions)
- **Terence Moriarty** (Department of Kinesiology and Athletic Training)
- Ai Wen (Department of Biology)

United Faculty also recognized other faculty and administrators:

• UF Member of the Year: Tom Hesse (Dept. of Philosophy and World Religions), UF Treasurer

• UF Department Head of the Year: Susan Hill (Dept. of Philosophy and World Religions)

• UF Administrator of the Year: **Jennifer Cooley** (Interim Dean, College of Humanities, Arts and Sciences)

The awards were presented at UF's annual "Sunday Fun Day" for faculty and their families at UNI's Wellness and Recreation Center.

United Faculty, established in 1976, is the chief negotiating agent for the University of Northern Iowa's faculty, and is affiliated with the American Association of University Professors/American Federation of Teachers (AAUP/AFT).

For more about United Faculty, see https://ufaculty.uni.edu/.

###